VOICE YOUR SUPPORT FOR AFGHAN ADJUSTMENT
June 10, 2021

2021 World Refugee Day Events- Salt Lake City

World Refugee Day 2021

IN-PERSON EVENTS

June 18

UTAH

Ribbon Cutting Ceremony and Celebration

10:00 AM - 1:00 PM

415 East 3900 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84107

World Refugee Day Celebration

6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Cottonwood Regional Park
4300 S 1300 E
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84117

Highlights of the evening include

  • introduction of the Global Refugee Archive
  • Photobooths celebrating tradition, individual stories, and refuge
  • Live performance of multimedia composition “The Story of Our Journey
  • Reading children's books "Samir's Bike" and Lubna and Pebble" and more.


VIRTUAL EVENTS

June 19

Virtual Presentation and Panel Discussion

4:00 - 5:00 PM CET (10 AM EST/7AM PST)

View details and reply

This event is organized and hosted by TSOS Community Program Coordinators for Europe (EU/UK/Egypt)

Virtual World Refugee Day Event sharing videos, personal stories, and a panel discussion celebrating the wonderful ways refugees are bringing more joy, culture, and healing to our communities.

We invite you to take a moment to learn more and open your heart to every individual displaced, who is looking for a home.

June 20

Virtual Multimedia Composition

"The Story of Our Journey"
1 PM EDT (10 AM PST/7PM CET)

This event is organized and hosted by Sunset Run for Refugees and will be followed by a panel discussion.

******************

The musical score and accompanying film amplify first-hand refugee stories through a multimedia artistic experience. Authentic audio and video interview footage provided by TSOS supports the clarinet and fixed media electronics, providing the viewer with an opportunity to reflect as refugees share details of their personal, arduous journeys from a home lost to a home found.

To learn more about the composition visit https://tsosrefugees.org/conversations/the-story-of-our-journey

In preparation for World Refugee Day, check out our new playlist:

Other Posts

Voice Your Support for Afghan Adjustment

The Afghan Adjustment (AA) has been reintroduced in both the House (H.R.4627) and the Senate (S.2327) of the United States by a bipartisan group of legislators. We invite you to join us in honoring our promise to our Afghan allies by urging your representatives to pass the Afghan Adjustment!

December 6, 2023

Slam the Islamophobia

The Emerald Project is a Utah-based organization that carefully designs dialogues to engage with non-Muslims to make Salt Lake Valley a more welcoming home to Muslims. As many of our refugee friends belong to the Muslim faith, we applaud opportunities that foster understanding and were pleased to support The Emerald Project’s 3rd annual “Slam the Islamophobia” event on February 15th.

September 25, 2023

Invisible Barriers and Battles: The Mental Health Impact on Refugees

Refugees often risk their lives crossing deserts, jungles, and oceans all in the search for shelter, freedom, or happiness. Yet, even once they’ve reached physical safety, mental mountains emerge that make daily life an uphill climb. At the November 2022 conference for the Utah Chapter of the Society for Public Health Education (USOPHE), presenters Shurooq Al Jewari and Sasha Sloan discussed mental health and inclusion, focusing on immigrants and refugees.

September 15, 2023
Add Impact to Your Inbox
Sign up for our emails to get inspiring stories and updates delivered straight to you.
© 2023 Their Story is Our Story Privacy Policy
Their Story is Our Story is a 501(c)3 Non-Profit Organization under the United States Internal Revenue Code. All donations are tax-deductible. Our tax identification number is 812983626.