Join Us in Utah for the Displacement Today TSOS Lecture Series, 21-23 October 2021
Blog → June 10, 2021

2021 TSOS World Refugee Day Events

World Refugee Day 2021

This year we will be holding in-person and virtual events for World Refugee Day.


IN-PERSON EVENTS

June 18

UTAH

Ribbon Cutting Ceremony and Celebration

10:00 AM - 1:00 PM

415 East 3900 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84107

World Refugee Day Celebration

6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Cottonwood Regional Park
4300 S 1300 E
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84117

Highlights of the evening include

  • introduction of the Global Refugee Archive
  • Photobooths celebrating tradition, individual stories, and refuge
  • Live performance of multimedia composition “The Story of Our Journey
  • Reading children's books "Samir's Bike" and Lubna and Pebble" and more.


VIRTUAL EVENTS

June 17

Instagram Live Panel Discussion

8pm ET

View details at We Welcome Refugees

Join a We Welcome Refugees Instagram Live featuring Their Story is Our Story as we honor the stories of refugees.

June 19

Virtual Presentation and Panel Discussion

4:00 - 5:00 PM CET (10 AM EST/7AM PST)

View details and reply

This event is organized and hosted by TSOS Community Program Coordinators for Europe (EU/UK/Egypt)

Virtual World Refugee Day Event sharing videos, personal stories, and a panel discussion celebrating the wonderful ways refugees are bringing more joy, culture, and healing to our communities.

We invite you to take a moment to learn more and open your heart to every individual displaced, who is looking for a home.


June 20

Virtual Multimedia Composition

"The Story of Our Journey"
1 PM EDT (10 AM PST/7PM CET)

https://fb.me/e/1ryC6fXia

This event is organized and hosted by Sunset Run for Refugees and will be followed by a panel discussion.

******************

The musical score and accompanying film amplify first-hand refugee stories through a multimedia artistic experience. Authentic audio and video interview footage provided by TSOS supports the clarinet and fixed media electronics, providing the viewer with an opportunity to reflect as refugees share details of their personal, arduous journeys from a home lost to a home found.

To learn more about the composition visit https://tsosrefugees.org/conversations/the-story-of-our-journey

In preparation for World Refugee Day, check out our new playlist:

Other Posts

Their Story is Our Story Announces Launch of Global Refugee Archive

Their Story is Our Story (TSOS) today announced the launch of the Global Refugee Archive, a database of refugee stories from around the world. The archive is housed at Brigham Young University’s Harold B. Lee Library ScholarsArchive and is available to the public, academic researchers, and humanitarians alike.

October 18, 2021

My Name is Tani...and I Believe in Miracles by Tanitoluwa Adewumi

An amazing true story following the journey of Tanitoluwa Adewumiand and his family as they resettle in the United States from Nigeria. My Name is Tani… and I Believe in Miracles: the Amazing True Story of One Boy’s Journey From Refugee to Chess Champion has three editions. Read more to learn about which book is just right for your family!

October 13, 2021

Book Review: Butterfly: From Refugee to Olympian-My Story of Rescue, Hope and Triumph

A perfect book for high schoolers or adults looking for an uplifting story of how hard work and grit pay off. Dive into this story of Yusra Mardini's journey from Syria to Germany to the Olympics.

September 30, 2021
SIGNUP FOR ALERTS FOR NEW CONTENT
© 2021 Their Story is Our Story Privacy Policy
Their Story is Our Story is a 501(c)3 Non-Profit Organization under the United States Internal Revenue Code. All donations are tax-deductible. Our tax identification number is 812983626.